Episcopal Children’s Curriculum
Episcopal Children’s Curriculum

Ruth & Naomi from ECC


Episcopal Children’s Curriculum (ECC) is a thematic Sunday school curriculum developed by the Center for the Ministry of Teaching under the direction of Dr. Amy Gearey Dyer. Although it is no longer in print, all curriculum materials are available for free download on our website.

Age Groups: ECC is available for three age groups, Preschool/Kindergarten, Primary (grades 1–3), and Intermediate (grades 4–6). For each age group, there are three years of material:

  • Shell Year (in which Baptism is studied)
  • Chalice Year (in which the Eucharist is studied)
  • Cross Year (in which Worship is studied)

This format allows churches with multi-age classes to alternate study material over a 3-year cycle. The Shell, Chalice and Cross years may be used in any order.

Content: These four units are included in every year of the curriculum: Old Testament, New Testament, Sacraments, and the Church. Every year also has material on the major events of the Church Year, including All Saints and Pentecost.

Visit the Episcopal Children’s Curriculum download page on the CMT website.